Using technology to edit and picking on the big boys

Thanks to The New York Times’ great search tool, it’s easier than ever to find their mistakes.

Don’t get me confused with those crotchety old geezers who sit around compiling a newspaper’s mistakes, then mail them all in at the end of the year. (Yes, these people exist. I’ve seen the proof in my newsrooms.) I stumbled upon all of these examples double-checking the usage as I edited my own paper. And certainly, the Times tends to get it right more often than not. That’s how, in many cases, you can tell which is the right usage.

How many versions of most hoped for can you find in this list?

For kicks, search these words/terms:

horserace

mindset

upside

Also, I give the editor-of-the-week award to those who edited player of the week award

And then there are these hilarious different versions of first come, first served in The NYT:

I’m no David. I can throw as many stones as I want to; they’ll never feel them. If they looked at my newspapers, they’d find mistakes, too. And they’re not going to look because they could care less. But from the outside looking in, it’s a nice exercise in knowing that even one of the world’s best papers doesn’t get it right every time. The Times staff is human, after all. Just like the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

