Celebrating Diversity With The Daily Show’s Writing Staff

(photo by Frank Fournier for Duke Magazine)

I picked up my latest copy of the Duke Alumni Magazine this week and immediately flipped to a feature about Adam Chodikoff, another Duke alum who is “senior producer, chief researcher, and self-styled “cataloguer of lies” for The Daily Show.

Now, I’m a huge Daily Show fan. The show’s media criticism is usually spot on. But I was a bit startled when I turned the page on the profile and saw the above photo of the show’s writing staff. Given its impact on the news these days, I was a little shocked at the absolute lack of diversity.

It’s not just that certain groups are a bit under represented. I mean, all but one guy is white. And they all appear to be almost the same age.

Am I being a overly judgmental here?

Leave a Reply

