New Economic Models for News at U of Minn

They’ve put up videos of the entire day at University of Minnesota June 16 event. I was there but I am saving my comments for later. Gotta think it through. What do you all think?

Some excellent speakers including Joel Kramer from MinnPost.com. You can also learn about what the Newspaper Assn and the Guild is thinking,…

New Economic Models for News
Tuesday, June 16, 2009
McNamara Alumni Center
University of Minnesota- East Bank
200 Oak Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
8:30-5:00 Conference

Join industry leaders in a discussion about the economics of the news industry in this one-day conference! Speakers and panelists will discuss the mission of newspapers, new ways to structure the newspaper business, new revenue models and many other topics. Co-sponsored by the Newspaper Guild and the Minnesota Journalism Center.

Speakers Include:

Bernie Lunzer, president of the Newspaper Guild
Robert Lang, Mannweiler Foundation and creator of the L3C business model
Jennifer Towery, Peoria Journal Star and president of the Peoria Guild
Joel Kramer, founder and CEO of Minnpost.com
John Sturm, president of the Newspaper Association of America
Steve Yelvington, Morris Digital Works
Ted Venetoulis, Corridor Media Inc., 501c(3) concept
David Shribman, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

3 Responses

  1. I hear ya. I think I’m about 50 blog posts behind, or something like that!

  2. i’d like to give em to you and I will when I catch up on all the writing I am behind on. I wish I could go to Garage this week in SF. So much to cover. So much to write about and all for FREE! Gotta read that too.

  3. Thanks for sharing this here. I’m still trying to unpack my own notes and thoughts from another conference. But I’ll check this out, too. Also, would love to hear a few of your takeaways from the event.

Leave a Reply

